HDFC Rewards Credit Cards: Which of the 4 Should You Pick?
At a Glance
| Joining Fee | Not published on the family page |
| Annual Fee | ₹1,000 to ₹10,000 + taxes, depending on the card |
| Best Suited For | Spenders who want points on dining, shopping or travel bookings |
| Reward Type | Reward Points on every card |
HDFC Bank’s Rewards Credit Cards are not one card. The page groups four: Diners Club Black Metal Edition, Regalia Gold, Diners Club Privilege and Diners Club Rewardz.
They share a points currency but differ sharply on price, from ₹1,000 to ₹10,000 plus taxes a year. This guide sets the four side by side, using only what HDFC publishes, so you can pick the one that fits your spending before you apply.
The Four Cards Compared
| Card | Annual fee | Headline benefit published by HDFC |
|---|---|---|
| Diners Club Black Metal Edition | ₹10,000 + taxes | 10,000 bonus Reward Points on spends of ₹4 lakh every calendar quarter |
| Regalia Gold | ₹2,500 + taxes | 5X Reward Points at Marks & Spencer, Myntra, Nykaa and Reliance Digital |
| Diners Club Privilege | ₹2,500 + taxes | 4 Reward Points for every ₹150 spent |
| Diners Club Rewardz | ₹1,000 + taxes | Redeem up to 70% of a booking value through Reward Points |
With GST added at the usual 18%, the all-in yearly fees work out to about ₹11,800, ₹2,950, ₹2,950 and ₹1,180. HDFC also states that fees and charges are subject to change, so confirm the figure on the application page.
Rewards & Benefits
Reward rate and earn structure
The only base rate HDFC prints on the family page is for the Diners Club Privilege: 4 Reward Points for every ₹150 spent, which is roughly 2.67 points per ₹100.
Regalia Gold lifts that to 5X on four named merchants: Marks & Spencer, Myntra, Nykaa and Reliance Digital.
HDFC does not publish a monthly cap for these multipliers on this page, so check the card’s own terms before planning a large purchase around them.
Redemption and what the points buy
Points can be redeemed through NetBanking, converted into Insta vouchers, used against the product catalogue on SmartBuy, or converted into air miles.
The Diners Club Rewardz card lets you pay up to 70% of a hotel or flight booking with points. HDFC does not state a rupee value per point on this page, so any value-per-point claim you read elsewhere should be checked against the card’s current terms.
Milestones, memberships and lounge access
| Card | Extras listed by HDFC |
|---|---|
| Diners Club Black Metal Edition | Metal card, complimentary Club Marriott membership, bonus points on weekend dining and SmartBuy |
| Regalia Gold | Flight vouchers worth ₹5,000, complimentary Swiggy One membership, low foreign currency markup |
| Diners Club Privilege | Complimentary airport lounge access, Marriott and Decathlon vouchers, bonus points on Swiggy and Zomato |
| Diners Club Rewardz | Offers on hotel and flight bookings, 24×7 concierge, exclusive gifts, offers on MakeMyTrip, Goibibo, redBus and Uber |
Several of these benefits carry an asterisk on HDFC’s page, which means conditions apply. The number of lounge visits and the voucher activation rules are not stated on the family page, so we have left them out rather than guess.
Fees & Charges
| Item | What HDFC publishes |
|---|---|
| Annual fee, Black Metal Edition | ₹10,000 + taxes |
| Annual fee, Regalia Gold | ₹2,500 + taxes |
| Annual fee, Diners Club Privilege | ₹2,500 + taxes |
| Annual fee, Diners Club Rewardz | ₹1,000 + taxes |
| Fee waiver thresholds, interest rate, forex markup | Not on the family page; see each card’s fees and charges page |
The family page does not list waiver thresholds, so we cannot tell you what spend gets a fee refunded.
Open the Fees & Charges page of the specific card, or the Most Important Terms and Conditions document, before you decide that a card will be free in practice.
The trap is the gap between the headline benefit and the fee. The Black Metal bonus needs ₹4 lakh of spends in a single calendar quarter, so it only pays off for heavy spenders.
Eligibility & Documents Required
HDFC lists the same criteria for all four: you must be at least 21 years old, an Indian national, and either a salaried professional or self-employed.
The credit limit depends on your annual income. For identity and address, use Aadhaar, an Indian passport, a Voter ID or a driving licence.
For income, provide your PAN along with salary slips or the last three years of income tax returns. HDFC does not publish a minimum income for each card on this page.
Pros & Cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Four price points, from ₹1,000 to ₹10,000 + taxes | No joining fee, waiver threshold or lounge visit count on the family page |
| Reward Points redeemable across vouchers, SmartBuy, air miles and bookings | Regalia Gold’s 5X applies to only four named merchants |
| Premium memberships such as Club Marriott and Swiggy One on higher tiers | Black Metal bonus needs ₹4 lakh of spends every quarter |
Which One to Choose
Choose Diners Club Rewardz if you mainly book travel and want the lowest fee. Choose Regalia Gold if your shopping already runs through Myntra, Nykaa, Reliance Digital or Marks & Spencer.
Choose Diners Club Privilege for steady Swiggy and Zomato spending plus lounge access. Consider the Black Metal Edition only if you can reach ₹4 lakh in a quarter.
How to Apply
Open the Rewards Credit Cards page on HDFC Bank’s website, pick the card you want and tap Apply Now. Fill in your personal and financial details online. HDFC reviews the application and issues the card after verification. Keep your PAN and an address proof ready before you start.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many cards are in HDFC’s Rewards range?
Four: Diners Club Black Metal Edition, Regalia Gold, Diners Club Privilege and Diners Club Rewardz. Each has its own fee and benefit set.
What is the cheapest HDFC Rewards card?
The Diners Club Rewardz at ₹1,000 + taxes a year, which is about ₹1,180 with GST. It focuses on travel booking offers rather than everyday spend rewards.
Which card gives 5X points?
Regalia Gold gives 5X Reward Points at Marks & Spencer, Myntra, Nykaa and Reliance Digital. Other spends earn at the card’s normal rate.
What is the minimum age to apply?
21 years. You must also be an Indian national and either salaried or self-employed.
Are these cards lifetime free?
No. Every card in the range carries an annual fee. HDFC says the fee structure differs by card, so check the specific card’s terms for waiver rules.
Bottom Line
HDFC’s Rewards range works if you match the card to one clear habit: travel bookings, named shopping brands, food delivery or very high quarterly spends.
It is a poor fit if you want a lifetime free card, if your spending is spread across many merchants, or if you need a published waiver threshold before applying. In those cases, compare other no-fee cards first.
