HDFC Diners Club Privilege Review
At a Glance
| Joining Fee | ₹1,000 + GST |
| Annual Fee | ₹1,000 + GST, waived on ₹3,00,000 spends in a year |
| Best Suited For | Swiggy and Zomato users and movie-goers who spend about ₹20,000 a month |
| Reward Type | Reward Points, worth ₹0.20 to ₹0.50 each |
The HDFC Bank Diners Club Privilege is a mid-range rewards card with a ₹1,000 + GST fee, 5X points on Swiggy and Zomato, buy-one-get-one movie tickets and three lounge vouchers a quarter.
The lounge benefit is not free: you must spend ₹60,000 in the previous quarter to unlock it. The fee waiver needs ₹3 lakh a year, so most holders will pay the fee and should judge the card on whether the food, movie and voucher benefits cover it.
For a household that orders food online every week, they usually do.
Rewards & Benefits
Reward rate and earn structure
| Spend category | Benefit | Cap |
|---|---|---|
| Retail spends | 4 Reward Points per ₹200 | Cap not stated on the product page |
| Swiggy and Zomato online orders | 20 Reward Points per ₹200 (5X) | The extra 4X is capped at 2,500 points per calendar month |
| SmartBuy | Up to 10X Reward Points | Cap not stated on the product page |
The base earn is 2 points per ₹100. The 2,500-point monthly cap on the extra Swiggy and Zomato points is reached at about ₹31,250 of food orders, which few households will touch, so the cap rarely limits you in practice.
Redemption and point value
| Redemption route | Value of 1 point |
|---|---|
| SmartBuy flights and hotels | ₹0.50 |
| Select restaurants | ₹0.50 |
| Exclusive catalogue | Up to ₹0.35 |
| Cashback | Up to ₹0.20 |
The arithmetic: 4 points on ₹200 is a 1% return at ₹0.50 a point, but only 0.4% as cashback at ₹0.20. On Swiggy and Zomato, 20 points per ₹200 is 5% at ₹0.50 and 2% as cashback. Redeeming through SmartBuy for flights and hotels is where this card pays best.
Welcome and milestone benefits
Spend ₹75,000 within 90 days of card issuance and you get complimentary annual memberships of Swiggy One and Times Prime.
After that, a quarterly milestone of ₹1.5 lakh spend earns vouchers worth ₹1,500 from brands such as Marriott Experience, Barbeque Nation, Lakme Salon, O2 Spa, Decathlon or Dominos. Over four quarters that is up to ₹6,000 of vouchers, but it needs ₹6 lakh of spends.
Travel, dining and lounge access
| Domestic lounge vouchers | 2 per calendar quarter |
| International lounge voucher | 1 per calendar quarter |
| Unlock condition | ₹60,000 eligible spends in the previous calendar quarter |
| Movies | Buy 1 Get 1 on weekend tickets via BookMyShow, up to 2 free tickets a month, up to ₹250 a ticket |
| Dining | Extra 10% off Dineout bills at participating restaurants |
The lounge structure applies from 1 July 2026. Spending ₹20,000 a month, in any category, is enough to keep all three vouchers coming.
| Insurance cover | Amount |
|---|---|
| Air accident cover | $125,000 |
| Emergency overseas hospitalisation | $31,250 |
| Baggage delay | Up to $625 |
| Credit liability cover | Up to ₹9 lakh |
Fees & Charges
| Joining fee | ₹1,000 + GST |
| Annual (renewal) fee | ₹1,000 + GST |
| Renewal waiver | Spends of ₹3,00,000 or more in a year before the renewal date |
| Foreign currency markup | 3.5% |
| Interest-free period | Up to 50 days from the date of purchase |
| EMI conversion | 9 to 36 months |
The waiver needs ₹25,000 of spends every month. If you cannot reach that, treat the ₹1,000 + GST (about ₹1,180 with 18% GST) as a fixed cost and check that the movie savings, vouchers and food-order points clear it.
Two free tickets of ₹250 each in a month are worth ₹500 on their own.
The charge that catches people out is the 3.5% foreign currency markup. It is high for a card with an international lounge voucher, so use another card for spends abroad.
HDFC does not state the monthly interest rate on this product page.
Eligibility & Documents Required
| Salaried | Indian national, age 21 to 60, net salary of at least ₹35,000 a month |
| Self-employed | Indian national, age 21 to 65, annual ITR above ₹6,00,000 |
| Documents | Identity proof (PAN, Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence), address proof (utility bill, rental agreement, Aadhaar or passport) and income proof (salary slips, ITR, Form 16 or bank statements) |
Pros & Cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| 5X points on Swiggy and Zomato | 3.5% forex markup |
| Buy 1 Get 1 movie tickets, 2 a month | ₹3 lakh spend needed for the fee waiver |
| 3 lounge vouchers a quarter on ₹60,000 spends | Cashback value is only ₹0.20 a point |
| ₹1,500 vouchers every quarter on ₹1.5 lakh | Monthly interest rate not on the product page |
Diners Privilege vs Competitors
Among HDFC’s own range, the Diners Privilege sits below the premium travel cards and is built around food and movies rather than travel.
Its weakness is the ₹0.20 cashback rate: a flat cashback card gives a cleaner return if you will not use SmartBuy.
Pick this card if online food orders are your top spend, and look at a travel card instead if international trips are.
How to Apply
Apply on the HDFC Bank website by entering your phone number and date of birth or PAN, confirming your details and selecting the card.
Existing HDFC customers can apply from the Cards section in NetBanking, and you can also visit a branch. Some applications need document upload and video KYC.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the annual fee of the HDFC Diners Club Privilege card?
It is ₹1,000 + GST for both joining and renewal. The renewal fee is waived if you spend ₹3,00,000 or more in a year before the renewal date.
How many lounge visits does the Diners Privilege give?
It gives 3 lounge vouchers a calendar quarter, 2 domestic and 1 international. You must spend ₹60,000 in the previous calendar quarter to unlock them, a rule that applies from 1 July 2026.
What is the minimum salary for the Diners Privilege?
A salaried applicant needs a net salary of ₹35,000 a month and must be aged 21 to 60. Self-employed applicants need an annual ITR above ₹6,00,000.
How are Reward Points redeemed on the Diners Privilege?
SmartBuy flights and hotels give ₹0.50 a point, the catalogue gives up to ₹0.35 and cashback gives up to ₹0.20. Points can be redeemed on SmartBuy or NetBanking.
What is the forex markup on the Diners Privilege?
It is 3.5% on all foreign currency spends. The charge is billed on your next statement.
What is the welcome benefit on the Diners Privilege?
You get Swiggy One and Times Prime annual memberships if you spend ₹75,000 within the first 90 days of card issuance.
Is the Diners Privilege worth it?
It is worth it if you order on Swiggy or Zomato and watch movies, since the benefits can cover the ₹1,000 + GST fee. It is not worth it for foreign spends because of the 3.5% markup.
Bottom Line
Get the Diners Club Privilege if you spend at least ₹20,000 a month, order from Swiggy and Zomato often, and want lounge vouchers without paying a heavy fee.
Skip it if you travel abroad often because of the 3.5% forex markup, if you only redeem points as cashback at ₹0.20, or if you cannot reach ₹60,000 of spends a quarter. Heavy travellers should look at a premium travel card instead.

One Comment