HDFC Visa Signature Credit Card Review
At a Glance
| Joining Fee | Not published on the product page |
| Annual Fee | Amount not published; first year free on ₹15,000 in 90 days, renewal free on ₹75,000 a year |
| Best Suited For | Existing holders who want lounge access and add-on cards |
| Reward Type | 2 Reward Points for every ₹200 spent |
The HDFC Bank Visa Signature Credit Card offers 2 Reward Points per ₹200, up to 3 free add-on cards, Priority Pass lounge access and up to 50 days of interest-free credit.
HDFC’s own page now says that sourcing of this card has been stopped, so you cannot apply for it today. Existing cardholders keep their benefits. This review sets out what the card gives, what HDFC does not publish, and whether to keep it.
Rewards & Benefits
Reward rate and earn structure
The card earns 2 Reward Points for every ₹200 spent. That is 1 point per ₹100.
HDFC does not print a monthly cap on this page, and does not state what a point is worth in rupees. Check the redemption value in NetBanking before you plan around it.
Lounge access and travel
| Benefit | What HDFC publishes |
|---|---|
| Lounge access | Priority Pass membership, valued by HDFC at $99, saving up to ₹8,300 a year |
| Fuel | Savings on fuel, calculated by HDFC on ₹6,000 of monthly fuel spends |
| Add-on cards | Up to 3 free add-on cards for family |
| Interest-free period | Up to 50 days from the date of purchase |
| Contactless | Enabled; no PIN needed up to ₹5,000 per transaction |
The page does not state how many lounge visits the Priority Pass includes, or whether guest visits are charged. The fuel line shows no rupee figure either, so we have not quoted one.
Fees & Charges
| Item | What HDFC publishes |
|---|---|
| First-year fee | Waived on spends of ₹15,000 within the first 90 days |
| Renewal fee | Waived on spends of ₹75,000 in a year |
| Annual fee amount | Not published on the product or fees page |
| Interest | 3.49% on balances carried past the due date (HDFC does not state the period on this page; card interest is normally quoted per month) |
| Cash advance | 2.5%, minimum ₹500 |
To keep the card free, you need ₹75,000 of annual spends, which is about ₹6,250 a month. That is easy if the card is your main one and difficult if you use it occasionally.
The charge that catches people out is the cash advance: 2.5% with a ₹500 minimum, so even a ₹5,000 withdrawal costs ₹500 before any interest.
Eligibility & Documents Required
HDFC does not list eligibility for this card because it is no longer issued. Existing holders do not need to do anything.
HDFC’s general criteria for its credit cards are an age of 21 or more, Indian nationality and a salaried or self-employed income.
Pros & Cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Up to 3 free add-on cards | Closed to new applicants |
| Priority Pass lounge access valued at up to ₹8,300 a year | Only 1 point per ₹100 on spends |
| Fee waived on ₹75,000 of annual spends | Annual fee amount not published |
Visa Signature vs Competitors
New applicants have to look elsewhere. HDFC points to its other credit cards, and the Rewards range, including Regalia Gold and the Diners Club cards, is the natural next step if you want lounge access with a stronger earn rate.
Existing holders can also ask HDFC about a card upgrade through its Credit Card Upgrade service.
How to Apply
You cannot. HDFC states it is currently not accepting new applications for this card. If you already hold it, you can manage limits through NetBanking, the MobileBanking app, MyCards, PayZapp or WhatsApp Banking.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the HDFC Visa Signature card still available?
No. HDFC says sourcing has stopped and it is not accepting new applications. Existing customers keep the benefits.
Is the Visa Signature credit card free?
Not by default. The first year is free if you spend ₹15,000 within 90 days of receiving the card, and renewal is free on ₹75,000 of spends in a year.
How many reward points does it earn?
2 Reward Points for every ₹200 spent, which is 1 point per ₹100.
How many add-on cards can I get?
Up to 3 free add-on cards for your family.
What are the interest and cash advance charges?
HDFC lists 3.49% on balances carried beyond the due date. Cash advances cost 2.5% with a ₹500 minimum.
Bottom Line
Keep this card if you already hold it, reach ₹75,000 in yearly spends and use the Priority Pass or the free add-ons.
Skip it if you spend lightly, want a higher reward rate, or were hoping to apply, since that is no longer possible. If your renewal notice looks high for what you use, compare it with HDFC’s current Rewards cards.
