HDFC Platinum Plus Credit Card Review
| Joining Fee | Annual Fee | Best Suited For | Reward Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Not stated on HDFC’s card pages | Not stated clearly on HDFC’s card pages | Existing holders who spend around ₹50,000 a month | Reward Points |
The HDFC Bank Platinum Plus Credit Card is a basic rewards card with a simple earn rate and a spend-based bonus.
HDFC has stopped sourcing it, so you cannot apply for it today. This review is for people who already hold it, or who keep seeing it mentioned and want to know what it offered.
The headline feature is 4 Reward Points for every ₹200 spent, plus 50% more points in any month where spends cross ₹50,000.
It also allows up to 3 free add-on cards and up to 50 days of interest-free credit. There is no lounge access, no travel cover and no fuel waiver listed on the card’s page, so it competes on simplicity, not perks.
Rewards & Benefits
Reward rate and earn structure
The base rate is 4 Reward Points for every ₹200 spent. That is 2 points per ₹100. HDFC’s main benefits panel for this card does not list category caps or exclusions, so the full list of ineligible spends sits in the Most Important Terms and Conditions document.
HDFC also changed accrual rules on many cards from 15 May 2026, and the card page links to a notice about changes effective that date. If you hold this card, read that notice before assuming the earn rate above still applies to your statements.
Milestone benefit
When your spends cross ₹50,000 in a month, you get 50% more Reward Points on every ₹200 spent. The uplift is tied to the monthly total, not to a single purchase.
| Monthly spend | Points per ₹200 |
|---|---|
| Below ₹50,000 | 4 |
| ₹50,000 and above | 6 (4 plus 50% more) |
The 6-point figure is simple arithmetic on HDFC’s wording: 4 points plus half of 4. On ₹60,000 of spends that works out to about 1,800 points against 1,200 at the base rate, a gain of 600 points for the month.
Redemption and point value
HDFC’s page for this card does not state a rupee value per point. The value depends on how you redeem, whether against statement credit, products or vouchers through the bank’s reward catalogue.
Check the current redemption rate in your NetBanking or the reward portal before you plan around it, because HDFC uses different point values for different cards and routes.
Banking benefits
- Up to 3 free add-on cards for family members.
- Up to 50 days of interest-free credit from the date of purchase.
- Zero liability on a lost card once you report it to the bank.
- PayZapp offers: extra cashback on utility bills and mobile recharges when you link the card, and a ₹1,000 cashback offer on in-app shopping across 200 plus brands.
Fees & Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Interest on unpaid balance | 3.49% per month (about 41.9% a year) |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500 |
| Joining and annual fee | Not clearly stated; HDFC’s pages conflict |
| Forex markup | Not stated on the card page |
The fee line is the weak spot of this card’s public information. The fees page lists only the cash advance fee and the interest rate.
Its FAQ says the card carries no annual fee, while the main product page FAQ says the card comes with an annual fee plus taxes. Those two statements conflict, so check your own statement or call HDFC before you rely on either.
The charge that catches people out is the interest rate. At 3.49% a month, carrying a balance for even a few months wipes out years of reward points.
Pay the full bill every cycle, and avoid cash withdrawals, since the 2.5% fee with a ₹500 floor applies at once and interest follows.
Eligibility & Documents Required
New applications are closed, so there are no fresh eligibility rules to follow. Existing holders keep the card and its benefits.
If you want a similar HDFC card today, you will need to meet the income and credit score rules of the card you choose instead.
Typical documents for any HDFC credit card are a PAN, an address proof such as Aadhaar and income proof such as recent salary slips or an ITR.
Pros & Cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| 4 points per ₹200, 50% more above ₹50,000 a month | Closed to new applicants |
| Up to 3 free add-on cards | No lounge access or travel cover listed |
| Up to 50 days interest-free credit | Interest of 3.49% a month on unpaid dues |
Platinum Plus vs Competitors
If you are shopping for a card now, Platinum Plus is not an option, so compare its idea against what HDFC still sells.
The HDFC MoneyBack+ and Millennia cards are the nearest everyday-spend alternatives.
For lounge access, look at the Regalia family instead, such as the Regalia Activ review on this site. Platinum Plus sits below those on perks, which is why HDFC moved its sourcing elsewhere.
How to Apply
You cannot apply. HDFC’s own page says it is not accepting new applications for this card. Existing customers can manage the card through NetBanking, the MobileBanking app, MyCards or PayZapp, including switching online, contactless and international usage on or off.
If you want a new HDFC card, browse the live range on the bank’s credit card page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I still apply for the HDFC Platinum Plus Credit Card?
No. HDFC has stopped sourcing this card and is not taking new applications. Existing cardholders continue to get its benefits.
What is the reward rate on Platinum Plus?
It earns 4 Reward Points for every ₹200 spent. In a month where spends cross ₹50,000, you get 50% more points on every ₹200 spent.
Does Platinum Plus have lounge access?
HDFC’s card page does not list any lounge access for this card. If lounges matter to you, a Regalia-family card is the better fit.
What is the interest rate on Platinum Plus?
The interest rate is 3.49% per month on amounts carried past the due date. That is about 41.9% a year.
How many add-on cards can I get?
You can get up to 3 free add-on cards for your family.
What is the interest-free period?
You get up to 50 days of interest-free credit from the date of purchase, as long as you pay the full bill by the due date.
Bottom Line
Platinum Plus is a plain card whose best feature is the 50% points uplift above ₹50,000 of monthly spends. If you already hold it and spend that much, keep using it and clear the bill in full each month.
Skip it as a goal: you cannot get it anymore, and it offers no lounge access, no travel insurance and a steep 3.49% monthly interest. Anyone who wants lounges or travel perks should look at the Regalia range instead.
